📊 Full opportunity report: Explore GLP-1 Dose Availability And Prices In One Index on IdeaNavigator AI — validation score, market gap, and execution plan.
Prime made for students and young adults
- Fast, free delivery for dorm and study essentials
- Prime Video and Amazon Music included
- Member-only deals
TL;DR

IdeaNavigator AI has proposed a GLP-1 pharmacy index that would help patients compare dose availability and cash prices by location, while selling normalized data to health care and benefits businesses. The proposal describes a fragmented market, but the index is not reported as launched, and its underlying price and availability data have not been independently verified here.
IdeaNavigator AI has proposed a U.S. pharmacy index that would let patients search for brand-name GLP-1 drugs by dose and ZIP code to compare reported availability and cash prices. The proposed service would also license normalized price and stock data to telehealth providers, employers, benefits brokers and pharmacy benefit managers; the proposal does not say that the index is already operating.
The proposed consumer tool would cover Ozempic, Wegovy, Zepbound and Mounjaro. Users would search for a particular drug, dose and location, then see reported stock and cash prices across participating or publicly listed channels. IdeaNavigator AI says the initial data could combine crowdsourced stock reports with public pricing from manufacturer direct programs, Costco, Walmart and a discount-price comparison layer. It also proposes alerts when a requested dose becomes available.
The business model has two parts: a free consumer search tool intended to attract users and stock reports, and a paid data feed or dashboard for institutional buyers. Potential customers named in the proposal include telehealth prescribers, employer benefits teams, brokers and pharmacy benefit managers. IdeaNavigator AI also raises referral fees from legitimate pharmacy or manufacturer-direct channels as a possible revenue stream, while saying it would not take clinical affiliate payments from the drug itself.
For an initial test, the proposal recommends limiting the service to one metropolitan area and the four named brands. It sets two suggested validation targets over 60 days: at least 200 consumer stock reports in that metro and at least two prospective business customers signing a paid pilot or letter of intent. These are proposed goals, not reported results; the document does not identify a selected metro, a launch team or signed customers.
A Dose-Level Search Gap
The idea addresses a practical access problem described in the proposal: a drug may be available generally while a specific dose is hard to find nearby. For patients paying cash, comparing the listed price across channels may also matter. The proposal gives an approximate range of $199 to more than $1,000 per month, depending on drug and purchasing channel. It does not provide a date, a standardized basket of products, or underlying price observations for that range, so it should be read as an estimate in the proposal rather than a current price survey.
A searchable index could make it easier for patients to identify where to ask about a dose and what a cash price may be. If the reports are current and the comparisons are consistent, the same data could help prescribers and benefits teams understand local availability and price differences. However, the proposal does not demonstrate that such a tool would lower prices, improve access or reduce pharmacy spending. Those outcomes would depend on data quality, participation by pharmacies and whether users can act on the listings.
For employers and benefit managers, GLP-1 spending is a budget concern, but the proposal’s figure that these drugs account for roughly 20% of pharmacy spend lacks a named survey, population, measurement period and definition of pharmacy spending. It therefore cannot establish a sector-wide share. The business case for a paid feed would need buyers to confirm that dose-level stock and cash-price data answer a problem their existing systems do not cover.
From Shortages to Fragmented Prices
The proposal frames the opportunity as a shift from broad shortage concerns toward local stock gaps and scattered prices. It says the FDA declared tirzepatide shortages resolved in December 2024 and semaglutide shortages resolved in February 2025. Those dates are presented as context for the business idea; the proposal does not include FDA records or explain how the resolution of a listed shortage relates to stock at an individual pharmacy.
It also points to manufacturer direct channels, retail and warehouse-club cash programs, and changes to compounding availability as forces that have made comparisons more complex. The proposal names LillyDirect and NovoCare, alongside Costco and Walmart, and refers to the TrumpRx portal in February 2026. These are descriptions in the proposal, not a verified account of each channel’s current prices, eligibility rules or inventory. Prices and availability can vary by product, dose, location and purchasing terms.
The proposed index would focus on brand-name products and cash prices, rather than provide medical advice or recommend a drug. Its intended role is comparison: organize information across channels that patients and institutional buyers may otherwise have to check separately. That narrow focus would still require clear definitions of what counts as in stock, which price applies, and how recently each listing was checked.
Data Quality and Buyer Demand
The proposal does not give a launch date, name a pharmacy data partner or show a working index. It also does not provide a method for verifying crowdsourced reports, resolving conflicting submissions or removing stale listings. Without those details, it is unclear how users would distinguish a recent confirmation from an outdated stock report.
Price comparisons would need to account for eligibility and purchase conditions, including dose, quantity, insurance status, discounts and whether a listed price is available to a particular patient. The proposal does not explain how it would normalize these factors or define “cheapest legitimate price.” Its approximate monthly price range is not accompanied by a time window or comparison baseline, and should not be treated as a live quote.
It is also unclear whether pharmacies or direct channels would supply data, whether the proposed business customers would pay for it, and how the service would handle location and health-related search information. No pilot results, customer commitments, operating costs or evidence of referral agreements are included. The suggested metrics would test early interest, but alone would not show that the index is accurate or sustainable.
A Proposed 60-Day Pilot
IdeaNavigator AI proposes starting with a single-metro test of dose-level availability and cash-price comparisons for the four named brands. The next step described is to gather public price listings and user-submitted stock reports, then offer a consumer page and a separate business pitch for a normalized API or feed. The proposal does not identify a metro or state that development has begun.
The suggested 60-day checkpoints are 200 consumer reports and two business prospects willing to sign a paid pilot or letter of intent. Any reported results would help show whether patients contribute useful local data and whether institutional buyers see value in it. Further details needed to judge progress include report verification, listing update frequency, pricing methodology and evidence that buyers have committed to a trial.
Key Questions
Has the GLP-1 pharmacy index launched?
No launch is reported in the proposal. It describes a possible product and pilot goals, but gives no launch date or working service.
Which medicines would it cover?
The proposed initial index would cover Ozempic, Wegovy, Zepbound and Mounjaro, searchable by dose and ZIP code.
Would patients pay to use the finder?
The proposal describes the consumer finder as free to use. It expects revenue primarily from licensing data and dashboards to business customers, with referral fees also listed as a possibility.
Are the listed prices guaranteed?
No prices are provided as live listings in the proposal. It gives an approximate range but does not state a measurement date or comparison method. Any future index would need to show when prices were checked and which purchase conditions apply.
What would count as an early pilot success?
The proposal sets targets of 200 consumer stock reports in one metro and two prospective business buyers signing a paid pilot or letter of intent within 60 days. These are suggested benchmarks, not achieved results.
Source: IdeaNavigator AI
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
