AI Flat Rates Face New Questions As OpenAI Tightens Its Rules
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: AI Flat Rates Face New Questions As OpenAI Tightens Its Rules on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Age 18–24?Offer from Amazon

Prime made for students and young adults

  • Fast, free delivery for dorm and study essentials
  • Prime Video and Amazon Music included
  • Member-only deals
Try Prime for Young Adults Free trial for eligible 18–24 year olds
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

OpenAI has introduced limits on how many paid ChatGPT accounts can be associated with one device or payment card, and plans to combine ChatGPT and Codex allowances from December. Separately, Elon Musk said Grok Bot’s serving costs were unsustainably high relative to revenue, without giving figures or announcing a specific change. The developments raise questions about what flat-fee AI plans include, but do not establish that monthly subscriptions are ending.

OpenAI has tightened rules for paid ChatGPT accounts, limiting how many subscriptions can be associated with one device or payment card, and plans to combine ChatGPT and Codex usage allowances from December. The changes came in the same week that Elon Musk said Grok Bot was costly to serve relative to its revenue, renewing questions about what fixed-price AI subscriptions cover.

OpenAI’s help center says the card-and-device limits apply to paid Go, Plus and Pro plans. The company has not published a numerical threshold for how many accounts or subscriptions trigger a limit. The available source material describes this as a restriction on using multiple paid accounts through the same device or card; it does not establish that existing users will lose access or that the monthly prices have changed.

OpenAI also says that, starting in December 2026, Plus, Pro and Business customers will draw from one shared allowance across ChatGPT and Codex, measured in tokens. The help-center information says unlimited “Instant” chats remain outside that allowance. The change means those customers will have to consider combined use across the two products, rather than treating each as having a wholly separate allowance.

The week also brought an increase to some high-tier allowances. OpenAI release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 received twice their previous Work and Codex allowance on October 29, while a planned reduction for Pro 200 was cancelled. That account is narrower than a post by OpenAI employee Thibault Sottiaux, who described a doubling across Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500 tiers, as well as Business Premium. The difference between the post and the release notes should be kept in view when describing which plans changed.

At a glance
updateWhen: OpenAI changes announced or published i…
The developmentOpenAI added paid-account sharing limits and announced a shared ChatGPT-Codex usage allowance, while Musk cited Grok Bot’s high serving costs.
Thorsten Meyer AI
29 Oct – 1 Nov 2026

Infographic 01 · One week, four moves

More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked

In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset

0cost or revenue figures in Musk’s post
5paid ChatGPT plans under the new device limits
DecChatGPT and Codex share one allowance
2×Work and Codex allowance, Pro 100 and Pro 500
29 Oct · Confirmed

OpenAI gives more on top plans

Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.

Late Oct · Confirmed

Limits per card and per device

ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.

31 Oct · Confirmed

One meter from December

Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.

1 Nov · Confirmed post, no numbers

Musk: Grok Bot cost too much

One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.

Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.

Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

What Flat-Rate AI Plans Include

These developments point to a distinction between a fixed monthly price and unlimited use. A subscription can offer a predictable bill while limiting usage by account, device, payment method, tokens or a shared weekly pool. For customers, that makes plan wording and usage dashboards relevant to the actual value of a subscription, especially when work shifts between a chatbot and an agent that performs longer tasks.

For businesses, a single seat price may not be enough to forecast costs if usage allowances are shared or if different models consume tokens at different rates. The source material says OpenAI’s rate card shows its most capable model using an allowance roughly 100 times faster per output token than its cheapest model. That comparison concerns token consumption, not a claim that every task costs 100 times more in money. It illustrates why workload and model choice can affect how quickly a user reaches a limit.

The commercial pressure is not limited to OpenAI. Musk’s post points to the expense of operating Grok Bot, an agent that can work through tasks rather than simply return a single chat response. But one short post, without figures or a stated policy change, does not prove that AI subscriptions as a category are becoming unviable or that a particular price model is ending.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Recent Changes Across AI Plans

OpenAI introduced a $200-a-month ChatGPT plan in December 2024 and described it as offering “unlimited access” to its best models. The following month, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that OpenAI was losing money on Pro subscriptions because people used them more than expected. Those past statements provide context for current scrutiny of usage rules, but they do not explain the economics of the 2026 changes.

On November 1, 2026, an X user asked Musk whether Grok Bot usage could be reset, saying that many users had run out quickly that week. Musk replied: “The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.” The exchange concerned Grok Bot, not Grok chat generally. According to the supplied source material, Grok Bot is included with certain X subscription tiers and uses a shared weekly pool that also covers other services.

The source says xAI measures Grok Bot use through agent steps and tokens, rather than simply counting messages, and that task type and effort affect how quickly a pool is used. That is a different usage model from a basic chat message allowance. Anthropic’s Claude subscriptions are also described as having limits, but the material provides no specific new Claude policy or change to report here.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”

— Elon Musk, replying on X on November 1, 2026

Limits Without Published Thresholds

OpenAI has not disclosed the number of paid subscriptions allowed per device or payment card, or explained in the supplied material how the limits will be applied to households, teams or people with legitimate multiple accounts. It is also not clear whether the December shared allowance will change the total amount available to each plan or only how customers draw on it across ChatGPT and Codex. OpenAI says unlimited “Instant” chats remain outside the meter, but the material does not provide further detail on how that exemption works alongside other usage.

Musk’s post did not specify what changed at xAI, whether Grok Bot’s weekly pool had been reduced, or whether a reset, price change or new limit was coming. Its past-tense wording may suggest a change had already occurred, but that interpretation is not confirmation. The source material also refers to a separate Grok account post about adjusted allocations and a dashboard fault, while saying the post itself could not be found. Those details remain reported rather than independently confirmed here.

No current cost or revenue data for either company is provided. Accordingly, the available evidence does not establish whether either service is losing money now, how much a typical customer’s use costs to serve, or whether flat-rate plans will be replaced.

Watch December Allowance Details

The next specified milestone is OpenAI’s shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance in December 2026. Customers will need the final plan-level details, including how the token pool is allocated and what usage remains outside it. OpenAI’s help center and release notes are the cited sources for the current rules; additional updates could clarify thresholds and account handling.

For xAI, the supplied material identifies no announced date for a Grok Bot reset, a revised allowance or a pricing change. Users and businesses will have to rely on further statements or changes to the service’s pricing and usage pages to establish whether Musk’s comment was followed by a policy adjustment. Until then, the reason he gave is confirmed as a statement, while the specific action and its scale remain unknown.

Key Questions

Is OpenAI ending flat-rate ChatGPT subscriptions?

The reported changes do not establish that. OpenAI is adding account-sharing limits and plans to combine ChatGPT and Codex allowances for some paid plans, but the source material does not report an end to monthly subscriptions.

Which ChatGPT plans are covered by the card and device limits?

OpenAI’s help-center information identifies Go, Plus and Pro. It does not publish the number of accounts or subscriptions that trigger a limit.

When will ChatGPT and Codex share an allowance?

OpenAI says the shared, token-measured allowance for Plus, Pro and Business plans is planned to start in December 2026. The source material says unlimited “Instant” chats remain outside that meter.

Did Musk announce a Grok Bot price increase or usage cut?

No specific price increase or usage cut was announced in the quoted post. Musk said Grok Bot’s serving cost was unsustainably high relative to revenue, but gave no figures and did not describe a policy change.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

Europe Regulated the Interface and Forgot to Build the Engine

Europe has regulated its digital interfaces like cookie banners but has not built the underlying AI technology, risking competitiveness and innovation.

Claude Opus 5.5: The AI Model Leading In Benchmarks And Performance

Anthropic’s Claude Opus 5.5, released on September 22, 2026, leads in AI benchmark scores, demonstrating superior reasoning and professional task capabilities.

M 5.7 – 152 Km SW Of Adak, Alaska

A magnitude 5.7 earthquake occurred 152 km southwest of Adak, Alaska. No immediate reports of damage or injuries; ongoing assessment underway.

AmenGate: The Moment Before The Scroll

AmenGate introduces a faith-based prayer lock for iPhone, replacing scrolling with prayer, built on system-level security to foster meaningful phone use.